116th Boston Marathon 2012

I FOUND HIM … I NOW KNOW HIS STORY AND I WANT TO SHARE IT WITH ALL OF YOU!

His name is Michael McDonough. He marched the 26 grueling miles of the Boston Marathon in 95 degree temperatures to honor the memory of fallen Groton Massachusetts Marine Sgt. Bill Woitowiecz and to honor all family and friends who have lost loved ones during the war.

“It was his sign that caught the corner of my eye as he passed. There were guardsmen and military all over the place. Some on duty closing off streets, others in groups walking the route. So at first, when he was walking towards me, I did not realize there was anything unusual about him. It was after he passed and I turned to read his sign and he was alone on the vast open street that I realized it was an extraordinary moment in the race. I can’t even explain how there were no racers on the road right at that moment. It seemed to me to be even more moving and personal trek that he was on because that street was completely empty at that moment. Just a few moments later it was full of runners again!”

READ MORE at this article written by Art Campbell of The Groton Line:

http://www.thegrotonline.com/2012/04/18/a-marathon-tribute-to-sgt.-billy-woitowicz/

Anyone wishing to make donations to support Michael McDonoughs fundraising efforts for the Wounded Warrior Foundation can message me directly on my G+ page for Pat Kennedy Corlin or email me at PerformingImages@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

