Monochrome VS Color – Which Do You Prefer?

Monochrome VS Color – Which Do You Prefer?

I have begun work on a project that I’m looking for a bit of advice on. In portraiture for body builders I want to produce a body of work that shows muscle strength and development, while also capturing the essence of his personality in the portraits. One of the questions I have is do I produce the work in Monochrome or Color or both! So I’m asking for feedback on this one image comparison. Feel free to discuss!

Image Capture outdoors under cloudy skies.

Date 8-27-13 Location: Manchester, NH

Camera Nikon D3s

Lens Nikon 70-200 mm f/2.8

Focal Length 200 mm

Exposure 1/320 sec; f4; EV 0; ISO 200

Manual Pattern Metering

Processing LR4; PS6; Color Efex Pro 4; Silver Efex Pro (Monochrome Image Only)

#PerformingImagesPhotography #Portrait #BodyBuilding #BodyBuilder #Compare #Monochrome

2013 Performing Images Photography by Pat Corlin

All Rights Reserved www.PatCorlinPhotography.com

10 comments

    1. Thanks for your thoughts, Wayne, You can be sure I’ll take a close look at Lewis Hine! This was so interesting! I placed the post on a number of pages and my blog with the hope of starting a conversation, not to help me decide which image I myself thought worked best, but simply to get a feel for how the image would be perceived in either format. And what an amazing response I received! So many thoughtful, constructive, educational and sincere comments have combined to create a terrific dialogue, one that has me thanking my lucky stars to be involved in such a giving community of artists.

  1. In this image, I like the monochrome. It shows off the subjects physic, the shadows and contours of his body and sets them in opposition to the background without the distraction of color.

  2. So great of you to comment and bookmark! It would seem that I am on a never-ending learning curve and always happy to hear thoughts on my work. Much appreciated and welcome @musclebuildingsupplementsformenover50.

  3. You actually make it seem so easy together with
    your presentation however I to find this matter
    to be really one thing that I think I might by no means understand.
    It sort of feels too complex and very huge for me. I am having a look forward in your
    subsequent put up, I’ll try to get the grasp of it!

Leave a Reply

